Consultation: 2018-20 Motion Picture Fee Changes - Distributors

Was this information useful?
+ Yes
+ No
This is an overview of our 2018-2020 fee review for your sector. If you want more detailed information about any of the content below, please read this comprehensive document about the fee review process.

Introduction
Consumer Protection BC is an independent, self-funded, not-for-profit organization. Government has tasked us with regulating and licensing your sector. We have legal authority to set your licensing and other fees and charges. In doing so, we are required by law to recover our costs, to consult with you and to provide at least ninety (90) days’ notice prior to changing or introducing new fees.

What is happening?

We are in the process of setting your licensing fees for 2018-2020. Following a review of our costs and forecasted revenues for the next three years, we are proposing to change your licensing fees. To sustain and improve the oversight of your sector and recover costs, we are consulting on the following proposed licensing fee increases and other fee changes for 2018 – 2020:
  • No increase in the classification fees beyond their current levels.
  • Continue with annual 2% increases for all licence fees and other charges for 2018-2020, as has been the case in the previous three years.
  • Fees for single performance, replacement licences, late invoice payment, and late licence renewals have been eliminated.

Licensing fees:

  Current Fee Proposed Fees

Fee Type

Current Fee

Jan. 1, 2018

Jan. 1, 2019

Jan. 1, 2020

New Multipurpose Licence Adult/General Release*

$648

$718

$732

$747

New Adult Unlimited*

$592

$661

$674

$687

New General Release Unlimited*

$592

$661

$674

$687

New General Release up to 6 Titles per year*

$180

$241

$246

$251

New or Renewal General Release One Title per year*

$31

$32

$33

$34

New General Release Video Only*

$180

$241

$246

$251

Renewal Multipurpose Licence Adult/General Release*

$648

$661

$674

$687

Renewal Adult Unlimited*

$592

$604

$616

$628

Renewal General Release Unlimited*

$592

$604

$616

$628

Renewal General Release up to 6 Titles per year*

$180

$184

$188

$192

Renewal General Release Video Only*

$180

$184

$188

$192

* For more information about changes to the structure of licence renewals, effective January 1, 2018, please read the information below.

For a full listing of all proposed fee changes for your sector, please review the draft Fee Schedule, available here.

Classification fees:

  Current Fee Proposed Fees

Fee Type

Current Fee

Jan. 1, 2018

Jan. 1, 2019

Jan. 1, 2020

New Motion Picture – Per Minute

$2.08

$2.08

$2.08

$2.08

New Motion Picture Copy – Per Minute

$1.04

$1.04

$1.04

$1.04

Adult Motion Picture - Per Minute

$3.70

$3.70

$3.70

$3.70

Decal

$2

$2

$2

$2

New Advertising Trailer and Each Additional Copy

$10.40

$10.40

$10.40

$10.40

For a full listing of all proposed fee changes for your sector, please review the draft Fee Schedule, available here.

Why are fees changing?

Your licensing fees pay for the direct costs of regulating your sector, such as licensing, compliance inspections, complaint handling and enforcement activities as well as indirect costs like IT, finance and accounting, office rent, etc. Every year these costs increase. In some cases, cost increases are consistent with inflation, in other cases increases are based on specific and unique factors related to a sector (for example, changes to the law that result in new regulatory requirements).

Consumer Protection BC’s costs for regulating the Motion Picture Distribution sector have remained relatively consistent since 2015. Therefore, we are proposing to continue with the 2% increases for licence fees from 2018 to 2020. We are proposing to leave classification fees at their current levels from 2018 to 2020. Should there be any major fluctuations in industry costs or revenues in this period that necessitate additional fee adjustments, we will consult with you prior to making any changes.

You will also notice a new structure for licence renewal fees, effective January 1, 2018. You will pay a lower fee if you renew your licence at least two (2) weeks before it expires. This means that you will pay less if you renew your licence at least two weeks prior to your licence expiry, starting with 2018 licence renewals.

We will also no longer be charging late fees. If you don’t renew your licence by its expiry date, you will need to submit a new licence application, which costs more money.  

The purpose of these changes is to encourage you, our licensed businesses, to renew your licences before their expiry dates. This will create efficiencies when we process licence renewals and will benefit you as one of our licensed businesses.

How are fees determined?

Consumer Protection BC operates on a cost recovery basis. As such, costs to licence and regulate seven different industries and provide general consumer protection are primarily covered by the fees that are collected through licensing, and review and certification.

In setting these fees, we allocate costs to each licensed sector using a number of factors to determine the sector’s share of the overall costs for us to operate. The factors that determine a sector’s share of our costs are broken down by each functional area of our organization. Once these costs of are determined for each licensed sector, a fee schedule is developed so that project revenues from each sector closely match our costs to regulate each sector.

What do fees pay for?
Your licence fees pay for our regulatory and consumer protection activities. We are mandated to carry out this work under BC’s various consumer protection laws.

Give us your feedback

This consultation document provides information about the proposed fee schedule(s) and provides an opportunity for you to give us feedback. To provide feedback on the proposed 2018-2020 fee changes and/or our fee review process, please take our survey:

survey home

All feedback must be provided no later than August 4.

What happens next?
After the consultation closes on August 4 and we have assessed your feedback, we will give you 90 days’ notice prior to any fee changes.

The information above provides you with an overview of our 2018-2020 fee review process for your sector. If you want more detailed information about any of the content below, please read this comprehensive document about the fee review process.