Consultation: 2018-20 Funeral Services Fee Changes

Was this information useful?
+ Yes
+ No
This document is an overview of our 2018-2020 fee review for your sector. If you want more detailed information about any of the content below, please read this comprehensive document about the fee review process.

Introduction

Consumer Protection BC is an independent, self-funded, not-for-profit organization. Government has tasked us with regulating and licensing your sector. We have legal authority to set your licensing and other fees and charges. In doing so, we are required by law to recover our costs, to consult with you and to provide at least ninety (90) days’ notice prior to changing or introducing new fees.

Information about your fees

What is happening?

We are in the process of setting your licensing fees for 2018-2020. Following a review of our costs and forecasted revenues for the next three years, we are proposing to change your licensing fees. To sustain and improve the oversight of your sector and recover costs, we are consulting on the following proposed licensing fee increases and other fee changes for 2018 – 2020:

  • Licensing fees and other charges will continue to increase at 2% for 2018-2020 as has been the case in the previous three years.
  • The funerals service administrative fee (volume based), as set at $30, will remain unchanged through 2018-2020
  • All Places of Interment licensees will be required to move to a one-year licencing cycle upon expiry of their current licence and licensing fees will be tiered based on the volume of interments conducted each year. For licensees currently on a five-year licensing cycle this change will take effect in 2019 – when your current license expires.
  • Fees for duplicate replacement licenses, issuance of embalmer / funeral director ID card, and late licence renewal have been eliminated.
Funeral Service

  Current Fee Proposed Fees

Fee Type

Current Fee Jan. 1, 2018

Jan. 1, 2019

Jan. 1, 2020

Funeral provider new

$592

$604

$616

$628

Funeral provider renewal

$153

$156

$159

$162

Funeral provider renewal – volume amount (admin fee)

$30

$30

$30

$30

Funeral director/embalmer or both new

$153

$213

$217

$221

Funeral director/embalmer or both renewal

$153

$156

$159

$162

For a full listing of all proposed fee changes for Funeral Services, please review the draft Fee Schedule, available here.

Place of Interment

  Current Fee Proposed Fees

Fee Type

Current Fee

 Jan. 1, 2018

Jan. 1, 2019

Jan. 1, 2020

Certificate of Public Interest

$1182

$1206

$1230

$1255

Place of Interment new

$592

$604

$616

$628

Place of Interment renewal <21 interments

$153

$0

$0

$0

Place of Interment renewal 21-100 interments

$153

$80

$82

$84

Place of Interment renewal >100 interments

$153

$156

$159

$162

For a full listing of all proposed fee changes for Places of Interment, please review the draft Fee Schedule, available here.

Crematorium Fee

  Current Fee Proposed Fees

Fee Type

Current Fee

 Jan. 1, 2018

Jan. 1, 2019

Jan. 1, 2020

Crematorium new

$592

$604

$616

$628

Crematorium renewal

$153

$156

$159

$162

* For more information about changes to the structure of licence renewals, effective January 1, 2018, please read the information below.

For a full listing of all proposed fee changes for Crematoria, please review the draft Fee Schedule, available here.

Why are fees changing?

Your licensing fees pay for the direct costs of regulating your sector, such as licensing, compliance inspections, complaint handling and enforcement activities as well as indirect costs like IT, finance and accounting, office rent, etc. Every year these costs increase. In some cases, costs increases are consistent with inflation, in other cases increases are based on specific and unique factors related to a sector (for example, changes to the law that result in new regulatory requirements).

Consumer Protection BC’s costs for regulating the Cremation, Interment and Funeral Services sector have remained relatively consistent since 2015. Therefore, we are proposing to continue with the 2% annual increase as in the previous three years and maintain the funerals service administrative fee at the rate set in 2015.

The proposed changes to the structure of the Places of Interment licensing fee and cycle will have a number of benefits. First, it will align the timing of renewals for all licensees with this license type, creating efficiencies for our licensing process. Second, by facilitating more frequent and regular touch point between Consumer Protection BC and those Places of Interment that have previously been on a five-year licensing cycle, information such as contact information and licensing requirements will be kept up to date. The existing five-year licensing cycle has resulted in information being out of date, creating difficulties with the renewal process. Finally, tiered renewal fees based on the volume of interments each year will increase fairness in the marketplace and better align with how our cost recovery model is applied.

You will also notice a new structure for licence renewal fees, effective January 1, 2018. You will pay a lower fee if you renew your licence at least two (2) weeks before it expires. This means that you will pay less if you renew your licence at least two weeks prior to your licence expiry, starting with 2018 licence renewals.

We will also no longer be charging late fees. If you don’t renew your licence by its expiry date, you will need to submit a new licence application, which costs more money.  

The purpose of these changes is to encourage our licensed businesses to renew your licence before its expiry date. This will create efficiencies when we process licence renewals and will benefit you as one of our licensed businesses.

How are fees determined?

Consumer Protection BC operates on a cost recovery basis. As such, costs to licence and regulate seven different industries and provide general consumer protection are primarily covered by the fees that are collected through licensing.

In setting these fees, we allocate costs to each licensed sector using a number of factors to determine the sector’s share of the overall costs for us to operate. The factors that determine a sector’s share of our costs are broken down by each functional area of our organization. Once these costs of are determined for each licensed sector, a fee schedule is developed so that project revenues from each sector closely match our costs to regulate each sector.

What do fees pay for?

Your licence fees pay for our regulatory and consumer protection activities. We are mandated to carry out this work under BC’s various consumer protection laws.

Give us your feedback

This consultation document provides information about the proposed fee schedule(s) and provides an opportunity for you to give us feedback. To provide feedback on the proposed 2018-2020 fee changes and/or our fee review process, please take our survey:

survey home

All feedback must be provided no later than August 4.

What happens next?

After the consultation closes on August 4 and we have assessed your feedback, we will give you 90 days’ notice prior to any fee changes.

This document provides you with an overview of our 2018-2020 fee review process for your sector. If you want more detailed information about any of the content below, please read this comprehensive document about the fee review process.