Our Board

Was this information useful?
+ Yes
+ No

Consumer Protection BC is governed by a Board of Directors which is responsible for overseeing strategic direction and governance. The Board of Directors has been established under section 6 of the Business Practices and Consumer Protection Authority Act . The Act provides for the appointment of directors, qualifications of directors and standards of conduct. The Board has established advisory groups to identify consumer and industry related issues and potential solutions for consideration by the Authority and to provide feedback on any matters put forward for consideration.

Quick Links:

Board Governance Manual (2009)

The Board consists of the following members:

Douglas Enns, Chair
Dennis A. Cote, Director
Paulette Parry, Director;
Julie Winram, Director.


Board Biographies:

Mr. Douglas Enns
Chair of the Board

Mr. Enns joins the Consumer Protection BC Board of Directors as an executive level management consultant with more than 30 years of related experience. As current President and Founder of Douglas J. Enns & Associates Ltd. and Upturn Consulting Ltd., Mr. Enns has a proven track record of building high-performance companies, posting sector-leading return on equity, customer and staff satisfaction. With considerable governance experience, Mr. Enns currently serves on the Board of Advisors for RalMax Industries (Chair) and the Canadian Medic Alert Foundation. Past appointments for Mr. Enns include WorkSafe BC (Chair, 2002 - 2008) and the Greater Victoria Harbour Authority (2005 - 2008), amongst others. Mr. Enns is serving a three-year term, ending January 1, 2017.

Mr. Dennis A. Cote

Mr. Cote, a Commissioner with the British Columbia Utilities Commission (BCUC), comes to the Consumer Protection BC Board of Directors with extensive experience in regulation and adjudication, following a long career in product and business development and retail sales. As a Commissioner, Mr. Cote is responsible for sitting on a panel and adjudicating applications put forward by utilities to the BCUC on matters such as new facilities, capital plans, revenue requirements and rate structures. Prior to this, Mr. Cote spent 21 years with the British Columbia Automobile Association, taking on roles which include Director of Travel Services; Vice President, Sales; and Vice President, Product Development and Support. Mr. Cote is serving a three-year term, ending on November 26, 2015.

Ms. Paulette Parry

As a marketing professional with more than 34 years of experience in the industry, Ms. Parry joined the Consumer Protection BC Board of Directors in November 2012. In prior years, Ms. Parry was President and Owner of West Coast Communications and Vice President of Marketing for both Pivotal Partners Incorporated and for Pharmasave Drugs (National) Ltd.). Since 2008, Ms. Parry has acted as the Director of Marketing for the BC Liquor Distribution Branch/BC Liquor Stores, working with 195 individual stores and achieving $3 billion in annual sales and $935 million in annual revenues. Ms. Parry is serving a three-year term, ending on November 26, 2015.

Ms. Julie Winram

Julie Winram is a Managing Partner at Sentis Research, a Western Canada market research firm. As one of the firm’s principals, Julie is responsible for key account management, marketing and operations. Julie formerly led the Western Canada divisions of two global market research firms, Ipsos Reid and Synovate, and prior to that was the Vice President and Principal of MarkTrend Research. Her experience in the market research industry spans more than two decades. Julie is a recognized expert in Voice of the Customer Program design and has developed specialized models for transportation planning, economic impact and employee engagement. She speaks at colleges and universities and is a Certified Market Research Professional. Ms. Winram's is serving a three-year term, ending February 10, 2015.